Martin Receives J. Clarence Karcher Award

Mines Geophysics Research Assistant Professor Eileen MartinDr. Eileen Martin has received the prestigious J. Clarence Karcher Award from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists.

This award was established “[t]o honor the memory of J. Clarence Karcher and his enormous contribution to exploration geophysics, the J. Clarence Karcher Award is awarded in recognition of significant contributions to the science and technology of exploration geophysics by a young geophysicist of outstanding abilities who merits such recognition.”

The SEG Honors and Awards Committee noted: “Dr. Eileen Martin has made unique, significant, and innovative contributions in the use of fiber systems for recording seismic energy across a broad range of applications. Her work on surface wave interferometry is considered pioneering and a standard reference for industrial applications. Martin is credited with being the first to use existing telecommunication infrastructure to successfully gather active, passive, and ambient noise data using DAS. […] At this very early stage of her career, Martin’s published oeuvre have citation rates beyond most late career researchers and indicative of the significance her peers place on her scientific discoveries.”

Martin Receives Award for Research Mentoring

Dr. Eileen Martin has received the 2024 Undergraduate Research Mentor Award.  The award recognizes faculty, postdoc, and graduate student mentors who support undergraduate students in having enriching research experiences. Organized by the Office of Undergraduate Research Scholars, this award provides an avenue for undergraduate students to recognize and nominate their outstanding research mentors.

Sava Honored by Senior Students

Paul SavaDr. Paul Sava received the Geophysics Student Award. Selected by the senior class, the award honors teachers for quality teaching, genuine care for students, and commitment to enhancing the campus community.

Tenure, promotions granted

Drs. Ge Jin, Eileen Martin and Matthew Siegfried have received tenure and been promoted to associate professor.

Jin elected to be SEG Council Chair

Associate Professor Ge Jin has been elected to be Council Chair for the Society of Exploration Geophysics (SEG). In this role, Jin will be a voting member of the SEG Board of Directors and Nominating Committee.

Jin has been an active member of SEG since 2014. He has been an author, reviewer, and editor for Geophysics, Interpretation, and The Leading Edge, and since 2019, he has served on the SEG Research Committee, where he advocates and works towards improving the abstract format, poster, and workshop experience of The International Meeting for Applied Geoscience & Energy (IMAGE). Jin is also part of the Technical Committee of IMAGE and has been responsible for organizing Distributed Acoustic Sensing sections and post-conventional workshops in recent years.

In his position statement for the positing, Jin indicated that he will use his position towards achieving two main goals: sustainable development of exploration geophysics and engagement of the younger generation.