Geophysics in the Mines Newsroom

WARREN HAMILTON, 1925 – 2018

Dr. Warren B. Hamilton, who served in the Department of Geophysics for more than 20 years as one of its Distinguished Senior Scientists, died October 26, 2018.  Born in 1925, Dr. Hamilton served in U.S. Navy from 1943 to 1946 and was a commissioned officer on the USS...

read more


Dr. Matthew Siegfried spent the last several weeks leading a research team on Antarctica. He and his team recently sampled the deepest standing water body humans have ever accessed beneath the continent.

read more


Dr. Matthew Siegfried is a glaciologist who uses satellite remote sensing techniques, in combination with field-based and airborne geophysical methods, to understand physical processes of Earth’s glaciers and ice sheets. His research interests include the role of dynamic subglacial hydrology, interactions between ice, ocean, and solid earth, adapting field geophysical methods for ice-sheet applications, and independent validation of remotely sensed observations…

read more

MISAC NABIGHIAN, 1931 – 2018

Misac NabighianThe applied geophysics community has lost a pioneer, an extraordinary scientist, a great teacher and mentor, and an extraordinary human being. Dr. Misac Nabighian passed away on August 8, 2018 from the complications of a heart attack. He is best known as a leading theoretician in electromagnetic and potential-field geophysics where he made many seminal contributions. He was known for his teachings in applied geophysics, mentoring of many geophysicists, and his extraordinary care for his students, friends, and colleagues…

read more

Looking for us?

Check out the online campus tour for building information and photos, a map and directions to campus.

read more