Faculty and Staff

Department Head

Adjunct and Emeritus Faculty

Norman Bleistein

University Emeritus Professor
Center for Wave Phenomena
nbleiste@mines.edu

Timothy Collett

Adjunct Professor
Senior Scientist, USGS
303-236-5731
tcollett@usgs.gov
Research interests: Gas hydrate characterization, unconventional energy assessments, well log

Thomas L. Davis

University Emeritus Professor
Reservoir Characterization Project
tdavis@mines.edu
Research interests: Seismic interpretation, integrated exploration and development, reservoir characterization

Warren Hamilton

Distinguished Senior Scientist
303-284-2047
whamilto@mines.edu
Personal website

Gavin Hayes

Adjunct Assistant Professor
NEIC Research Seismologist, USGS
303-273-8421
ghayes@usgs.gov
Research interests: Earthquakes & Tectonics

Steve Hill

Adjunct Professor
303-642-8142
stevejhill@earthlink.net
Research interests: Seismic processing, practice and theory

Ken Larner

University Emeritus Professor
Center for Wave Phenomena
klarner@mines.edu
Research interests: Imaging of the earth’s subsurface

Walt Lynn

Adjunct Professor
719-742-3607
wlynn@mines.edu
Personal website

Misac Nabighian

Distinguished Senior Scientist, Center for Gravity, Electrical and Magnetic Studies
303-273-3933
mnabighi@mines.edu
Personal website
Research interests: Gravity, magnetic and electromagnetic fields in applied geophysics: theory, data processing and interpretation

Gary R. Olhoeft

Professor Emeritus
golhoeft@mines.edu
Personal website

Bruce VerWest

Adjunct Faculty
bverwest@mines.edu

David Wald

Adjunct Professor
Supervisory Research Geophysicist, USGS
303-273-8441
dwald@mines.edu or wald@usgs.gov

Diane Witters

Adjunct Faculty
303-273-3408
dwitters@mines.edu
Personal website

Terence K. Young

Professor Emeritus,
Former Department Head
tkyoung@mines.edu
Personal website

Staff

Michelle Szobody

Program Assistant
303-273-3935
mszobody@mines.edu

Joana E. Perez

Administrative Assistant
303-273-3451
perez@mines.edu

Brian Passerella

Laboratory and Field Coordinator
303-384-2249
bpassere@mines.edu

Dawn Umpleby

Research Administrator, Center for Wave Phenomena
303-384-2178
dumpleby@mines.edu

Sue Jackson

Project Manager, Reservoir Characterization Project
303-273-3459
sujackso@mines.edu