Faculty and Staff

Department Head

Adjunct and Emeritus Faculty

Norman Bleistein

University Emeritus Professor
Center for Wave Phenomena
nbleiste@mines.edu

Timothy Collett

Adjunct Professor
Senior Scientist, U.S. Geological Survey
303-236-5731
tcollett@usgs.gov
Research interests: Gas hydrate characterization, unconventional energy assessments, well log

Thomas L. Davis

University Emeritus Professor
Reservoir Characterization Project
tdavis@mines.edu
Research interests: Seismic interpretation, integrated exploration and development, reservoir characterization

Dave Hale

Emeritus Professor
Center for Wave Phenomena
dhale@mines.edu
Personal website
Research interests: Seismology, computer graphics, image processing, subsurface modeling and fluid flow

Warren Hamilton

Distinguished Senior Scientist
303-284-2047
whamilto@mines.edu
Personal website
Research interests: Tectonics; evolution of crust and mantle; geodynamics; Venus

Gavin Hayes

Adjunct Assistant Professor
NEIC Research Seismologist, U.S. Geological Survey
303-273-8421
ghayes@usgs.gov
Research interests: Earthquake Source Processes, Subduction Zones, Great Earthquakes, Earthquakes & Tectonics

Steve Hill

Adjunct Professor
303-642-8142
stevejhill@earthlink.net
Research interests: Seismic processing, practice and theory; seismic amplitude analysis, practice and theory

Ken Larner

University Emeritus Professor
Center for Wave Phenomena
klarner@mines.edu
Research interests: Imaging of the earth’s subsurface; emphasis on application of the seismic method to seismic data processing for exploration and development of hydrocarbons

Walt Lynn

Adjunct Professor
719-742-3607
Fax: 719-248-5145
wlynn@mines.edu
Lynn Incorporated website
Research interests: Data processing and interpretation of 3D multi-dimensional data including multi-azimuth and multi-component data; statistical relationships between seismic attributes, elastic inversion and reservoir properties; uncertainty and reliability measures of seismic attributes

Misac Nabighian

Distinguished Senior Scientist, Center for Gravity, Electrical and Magnetic Studies
303-273-3933
mnabighi@mines.edu
Personal website
Research interests: Gravity, magnetic and electromagnetic fields in applied geophysics: theory, data processing and interpretation

Gary R. Olhoeft

Professor Emeritus
golhoeft@mines.edu
Personal website
Research interests: Petrophysics, borehole geophysics, environmental and geotechnical geophysics, planetary geophysics, electrical and electromagnetic methods

Bruce VerWest

Adjunct Faculty

David Wald

Adjunct Professor
Supervisory Research Geophysicist, U.S. Geological Survey
303-273-8441
Fax: 303-273-8600
dwald@mines.edu or wald@usgs.gov
Research interests: Earthquake hazards and risk, strong ground motions, earthquake source, real-time earthquake information systems

Diane Witters

Adjunct Faculty
303-273-3408
dwitters@mines.edu
Personal website
Research interests: Effective strategies for teaching technical writing, oral presentation, and professional skills as ongoing components in graduate degree programs

Terence K. Young

Professor Emeritus, and Former Department Head
tkyoung@mines.edu
Personal website
Research interests: Statistical techniques, stochastic modeling

Staff

Michelle Szobody

Program Assistant
303-273-3935
mszobody@mines.edu

Joana E. Perez

Administrative Assistant
303-273-3451
perez@mines.edu

Brian Passerella

Laboratory and Field Coordinator
303-384-2249
bpassere@mines.edu

Sue Jackson

Project Manager, Reservoir Characterization Project
303-273-3459
sujackso@mines.edu

Dawn Umpleby

Research Administrator, Center for Wave Phenomena
303-384-2178
dumpleby@mines.edu

Cindy Herb

Administrative Assistant, Reservoir Characterization Project
303-273-3939
cherb@mines.edu