Follow Geophysics on Social Media

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Faculty Honored

Congratulations to Dr. Matt Siegfried, who received the Undergraduate Student Government Faculty Award for Geophysics. These awards are selected by members of this year’s senior class and recognize Mines faculty for their dedication to quality teaching, genuine care...

read more

SEG Names GP Papers as Top Papers

The Society of Geophysicists (SEG) has recognized two Mines papers presented at the SEG Image 2021 conference with top paper awards. Ali Tura, James Simmons, Matthew Copley, Sima Daneshvar, Andrea Damasceno, and James Stitt received Best Paper Presented at Image 2021...

read more

Bozdağ’s team featured for work in planetary seismology

Dr. Ebru Bozdağ and her computational and global seismology team have been featured by the Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC) for their work in planetary seismology. The team, which uses the Frontera supercomputer at the TACC has been using full-waveform inversion...

read more

Congratulations to GP Alum Devon Dunmire

Congratulations to Geophysics alum Devon Dunmire (class of 2018), who won one of only six Outstanding Student Presentation Awards in the Cryosphere section at the 2021 AGU Fall Meeting for her PhD research, "Contrasting Regional Variability of Buried Meltwater Extent...

read more