News & Events



Do you remember Georgianna (Georgie) Zelenak?? Check out this great feature done on her by the Alumni Association: versionText only version

Congratulations to JAMES JOHNSON for his winning poster at the ConocoPhillips Research Fair.

Congratulations to IKER MADERA for receiving the MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. RECOGNITION AWARD


#3 SEISMOLOGY & GEOPHYSICS PROGRAM in the nation, according to the following ranking:

Thank you for your dedication, hard work, and ingenuity. You made it happen!


Roel Snieder receives the Outstanding Educator Award from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) from SEG President John Bradford at the 2016 annual meeting of the SEG in Dallas.

Congratulations Roel!




Congratulations Class of 2016!

We are very proud of all of our graduates and wish them success as they pursue the next step in their respective career paths.


Doctor of Philosophy Geophysics

Nathan Foks
Nishant Kamath
Satyan Singh

Prof. Yaoguo Li with Dr. Nathan Foks, Prof. Ilya Tsvankin with Dr. Nishant Kamath, and Dr. Satyan Singh with Prof. Roel Snider


Master of Science Geophysics

Ben Andrews
Jennifer Brush
Emily Butler
Jarred Eppehimer
Alexandra Grazulis
Alexandria Mabrey
Staci Mueller


Professional Masters, Petroleum Reservoir Systems

Michelle Rigsby
Darcy St. Aubin


Bachelor of Science Geophysical Engineering

Michael Blaney, Brandon Bolach, Richmond Brininger, Kylee Brown, Rowland Chen, Hank Cole, Thomas Conklin, Andrew Cooper, Kira Dickey, Flannery Dolan, Stuart Farris, Nicholas Fleegal, Megan Fuhr, Dana Gallegos, Dallas Hall, Jospeh Halloran, Vilnis Humeyumptewa, Alicia Johnson, Nolan Leue, Andrew Markley, Rowdy Mathews, Abigal Michel, Ryan Meier, Ginerva Moore, Samara Omar, Varindra Pradhana, Aubrey Preble, Steven Rennolet, Joan Sanborn, Garrett Sickles, Zachariah Simms, Michael Sleevi, Meghan West, Austin Williams, Renjie Wu, Brett Yaborough


  Some of the BS graduates at the GP Commencement Luncheon


Spring Commencement 2016 Student Awards

The Mendenhall Prize is awarded to graduating MS or PhD students who, throughout their graduate program, have demonstrated outstanding academic performance, the ability to conduct cutting-edge research, and the highest standards of integrity and professional conduct.

Satyan Singh



From left to right:

The Outstanding Graduating Senior Award: Ginevra Moore
Presented by each degree-granting department to its outstanding graduating senior.

The George R. Pickett Memorial Award: Dana Gallegos
Presented on the basis of demonstrated interests and accomplishments in the study of borehole geophysics.

The George T. Merideth Award: Samara Omar
Established in 2012 by Keith A. '52 and Mary Ann Kvenvolden, to carry forward the legacy of former Mines geophysics professor George T. Merideth, is presented to outstanding graduating geophysics students who have demonstrated academic excellence, community involvement and potential for leadership in earth science engineering.

The Phillip R. Romig Award: M. Andrew Blaney
Presented to the graduate who best exemplifies excellence in the acquisition of field geophysical observations.

The John C. Hollister Award: Joan Sanborn
Presented to a graduate for demonstrated leadership, maturity, and scholarship.

The Cecil H. Green Award: Stuart Farris
Given to the graduating senior in geophysical engineering who, in the opinion of the Department of Geophysics, has the highest attainment in the combination of scholastic achievement, personality,and integrity.

We bid a fond farewell to professors Terry Young and Tom Davis. Enjoy your retirement!





Exploration & Production Magazine published an article about Professor Tom Davis and RCP titled "RCP Begins Next Phase". In it, Dr. Davis discusses the beginnings of RCP and how it has changed over the years.





GP students Michelle and Micaela Pedrezas were part Team Airband who won the top prize in Colorado School of Mines Mining Innovation Challenge. The team’s invention is a wearable air-quality monitor that utilizes special sensors to detect the levels and presence of hazardous air pollutants. Congratulations ladies!


Congratulations to Professor Ed Nissen for being featured in an April 2016 CCTV segment on predicting earthquakes.



Professor Ed Nissen's paper, "Limitations of rupture forecasting exposed by instantaneously triggered earthquake doublet", was published in Nature Geoscience in February 2016. It has attracted enough attention to be featured as an Editor's Choice article in March's Science. Congratulations to Dr. Nissen and his co-authors on an amazing achievement!


Congratulations to Professor Roel Snieder, recipient of the 2016 Beno Gutenberg Medal. Roel is being recognized for his outstanding contributions to the theoretical foundations of modern methods of seismic imaging. Click here to read the entire citation.


Joni Sanborn, GP senior, writes about her McBride Honors Program experience in their Spring 2015 Newsletter. Click herePDF versionText only version to read "The World in My Backyard: Service Learning at a Golden Elementary School". Click here to find out more about the McBride Honors Program.






Congratulations to GP senior Hank Cole on winning the 2015 Dwornik Award for best undergraduate poster at the Lunar and Planetary Science Conference. The Dwornik award is the top award available for planetary science undergraduate research. Hank’s research focuses on wrinkle ridges - the most common tectonic feature on the terrestrial planets, and yet one that is not yet fully understood. His work provided new constraints on the dips of the underlying faults, with far-reaching implications. Great work, Hank!  


Congratulations to Dave Hale, first-ever recipient of the RMAC Faculty Mentor of the Year Award. 2015 is the inaugural year for the RMAC Faculty Mentor of the Year Award. This award honors faculty members at RMAC insitutions for their dedicated support and mentorship of student-athletes, and for demonstrating the same commitment to RMAC student-athletes' lifelong learning, competition, and well-being. Each institution's SAAC had the opportunity to nominate one individual and then each committee - or a representative from each institution's SAAC - voted on the nominees. Dr. Hale was selected to be awarded the RMAC Faculty mentor of the Year Award and he is also the RMAC nominee for the NCAA Faculty Mentor of the Year Award.


© 2017 Colorado School of Mines | | Equal Opportunity | Privacy Policy | Directories | Text Only | | rss

Last Updated: 05/17/2017 10:56:25